What's new

HT for the Student (1 Viewer)

Rotard12a

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve
Hey guys, I'm not new to the home theater experience, but I am new to creating it. I figured I'd go where the knowledge is (here) and talk to the people who can give the right advice (you).

Here's my position: I'm a college student and technology is something of an obsession of mine. I live in a dorm suite and don't have a huge amount of cash to throw around (actually, very little at this point).

Here's what I'm working with:

A strangely shaped room, with the north half being 8x14' and the south half being 7x8'. I'll get a picture/floorplan up soon.

TV: Panasonic 42" 1080p
Receiver: Ancient Yamaha RX-V800
Speakers: Fluance AV-HTB+ (Fronts: 3-way 3-driver, Center: 2-way 3-Driver, Surround: 2-way 2-driver). No sub as of yet.
Components: PS2, PS3, N64, PC (for music)

What I am thinking about is a receiver upgrade. I've got a source where I can get an Onkyo TX-SR705 for only a couple hundred bucks. The thing is, that same couple hundred could get me a good subwoofer, which I'm lacking. I can only buy one or the other at the moment. Basically, which would give me the most gratification *now*? Future value is completely aside from the point. My TV has several HDMI ports, and the only one I use is for the PS3 (which does everything I really want HDMI for). If a sub is the way to go, where should I look and what should I look for?

And finally, my floors, ceiling, and walls are all smooth, flat, and hard. Would it be worth it to throw down some area rugs and maybe fabric posters/wallscrolls? Would it make a noticeable difference?

Any advice you guys have would be good, as I'm trying to make the most of what I can from my room, which amounts to little more than a small studio apartment. Look forward to hearing from you all

Rotard12a

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve