What's new

HT for <$1000 w/emphasis on music (1 Viewer)

Alex Giese

Grip
Hello all. Newbie here. I will be starting from scratch. Right now, all I have is a 32" Sony Trinitron and a Mistu VCR. I may upgrade the TV to HDTV within a year or two. I have been searching up and down the HTF forums for ideas. Right now I am thinking floorstanders for the mains may be the way to go and possibly add a sub as well. Room size is about 15'x10'x8' with an open right side. The couch is up against the wall but, I am not too concerned about surround sound right now. The entertainment center is approximately 5' wide. I listen to mainly rock/hard rock. Good bass is a must.

With this info and a budget of $1000 or less (preferably) what do you guys/gals think? Here is the list of some equipments I have in mind

DVD player - Toshiba SD4700 (this doesn't necessarily have to be in the budget)

Receiver - Kenwood vr-507/509 or Denon 1802 or ?

Mains - Polk Audio RT600i/800i or ?

Subwoofer - ?

Would any of these go together fine or am I way off?? Any ideas from you all would be great! Oh, one more thing -music 80%/movie 20%.

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
What's your budget for speakers? I'd buy used, and I'd get just the front mains too and not worry about surround sound. Take a look at www.audiogon.com for speakers in your price range, and then read up on them at www.audioreview.com and www.audioasylum.com - I got to know of several speaker brands that way that I'd never heard about. Also, if you're planning on getting a sub, you might look into bookshelves - you'll get better quality for the same amount of money, and if you pick your components well and your room isn't too difficult, integration with a subwoofer shouldn't be an impossible task.

Ray R

Stunt Coordinator
Welcome Alex,

It seems like you are happy with slowly building your system. I also chose this approach, but some like to jump right in and buy everything at once.