HT construction query

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by JayD, Jul 30, 2004.

1. JayD

JayD Auditioning

OK people newbie here, first post. Found the site through HT Builder Mag. My wife and I are designing our dream house. The basement will be the audio/HT room. The house will be insulated concrete form construction with radiant floor heating (zoned) under a Permacrete surface. Now we can make this room virtually any size or shape since we are in the design phase. Browsing the forums gives a lot of advice especially the section where people post the things they would do if they had it to do over. My first question is, how do we determine what the best size and shape of the room is? For example, our first drawings have the room at 37'X60'. Should it be more square or more rectangle? We can also use almost any ceiling or wall covering. Anything over the Permacrete will kill the radiant heat save for a few area rugs so we don't have much choice there. I am more into music than movies, but love concert DVD's so the audio portion is extremely important. After the room design, what is the next step? FYI we are planning an underground basement (no windows)sound proofed from the rest of the house. Thanks! JD

2. SethH

SethH Cinematographer

Rectangle is better for audio. Generally speaking you want about 1:1.5, so you could go 30'x45' for instance. There are some more exact numbers out there, but I can't recall where they are. Sqaure is bad as is 1:2 (ie 30x60). You'll definitely want to put rugs down, but since you can't cover the entire floor you may want to condsider putting some sound absorbing material in the ceiling to make up for the floor a little. The next step after the room size would be planning out equipment. After you figure out speaker placement you can work on sound absorbtion throughout the room. Many people do this by using a laser pointer and mirror to find reflection points.

3. JayD

JayD Auditioning