1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

HT construction, NEC 110LC, and other questions.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David_Larkins, Dec 31, 2001.

1. David_Larkins

Hello All,
    I am new to this forum, and have been very impressed thus far with the genuine help that the pros here have been willing to give to us newbies. Here is my situation. I am finishing a room in my basement for a HT room / wet bar (20'x20' room). I have a friend (who shall remain nameless)who works at a university (also nameless) with their computer/audio/video equipment, and to make a long story short, the university surplussed some CRT projectors to make way for some new LCD ones, and he was able to get me a NEC XG-110LC and a 9' wide screen GRATIS!! [​IMG] Now, there is a catch. I am very new to the projector world, and before I go building my whole HT room around this beast, I want to make sure that it works, or could work without huge expense. I have plugged it up, and I get power, in standby mode, and when I turn it on power comes on, but there is no light coming out of the tubes. I don't have any sources hooked up to it, but I would think that I would see light from the tubes anyway. BTW, I don't have a remote for the thing either. I did download the users manual, but I don't have any kind of setup manual. Could someone tell me what to do next? Thanks in advance for your help!
    David

2. Guy Kuo

Guy Kuo Supporting Actor