What's new

HT audio setup on a budget (1 Viewer)

jonnyMa

Agent
Ok Im a complete newbie and am pretty clueless(Sure youve heard it a million times before;) ). Anyway im moving house and have a room to myself and decided to make a dedicated home theatre(on a tight budget). Now im pretty clueless about display devices(ive decide to go for a projector) but when it comes to auio I really dont have a clue. Now ive heard that the "ht in a box" packages arent great but my question is would I be better just taking the hassle out and going for one instead of messing with stuff I know nothing about. Also what sort of things should I be looking for in my audio setup( I know about 5.1 and subwoofer and the really basic stuff) For instance I was looking at the Sony DAVDZ500 Hi-Fi Surround Sound package(on dixons.co.uk, cant post a link sorry!) its 1000 watt rms output. what would I be missing with this compared to a system of seperate components. Bacially is it worth the hassle?

I will say I dont have a very sophisticated ear and wouldnt be an audio perfectionist, but I do want something with balls that adds to the experience. I have $1000 to spend( and thats pushing it change would be nice:) )

Lastly what exactly is the purpose of the receiver. Most ht in a box packages ive come across dont have a receiver. Is the receiver just built into the dvd player? And if so what are the drawbacks of this as opposed to a seperate receiver? Thanks.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
This might be better suited for the basics area.