How's the Samsung TSL2795HF? - Please read

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Adam Bluhm, Jun 20, 2002.

1. Adam Bluhm

Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

Okay, guys. I'll try to keep this short.
    I'm piecing together an HT but my room is small. I've concluded that a 32" is too big and would stick out too far from the wall. A plasma is out of the question. [​IMG] A 27" set seems the way to go at this time. I can get Toshiba and Panny wholesale, but they do not make HD sets below 32".
    However, Samsung does. [​IMG] I do want to get an HD set. My question is, does anyone have experience with Samsung HD sets? I guess you don't have to go into too much depth, but I don't know if Samsung aren't good as a rule. I've never researched this company as much as I have Tosh, Panny, for example.
    Thanks for any replies. I've been researching HT for the last 6+ months in my free time. Before then, I thought any tv was capable of high definition viewing. I've come a long way since then. [​IMG] Sooo much to learn!

2. Adam Bluhm

TXM2797HF may be another model to consider. It doesn't list it's depth (in inches) at Samsungusa.com, so I don't know if it'll qualify for my room constraints. [​IMG]
    «edit»
    Oops. It's listed as less than 20" deep. [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. Jim FC

Jim FC Stunt Coordinator

Adam,
    The Samsungs seem reliable enough and do have a nice colorful picture on DVD or HD, but the ones I've seen have disappointed me with their delivery of cable-type sources. The last one I messed with was last year's 32" model, so maybe they've improved. As I recall they have a very oddball input switching system: you push a button to get a list of inputs and select from there, rather than toggling through all inputs in order as everybody else does it. Definitely worth a look, though; Samsung is a company without a high profile in the US, and they seem to be introducing some really nice TVs at low prices to get their name recognition up.

4. Adam Bluhm