What's new

How would Tempest compare to an SVS Ultra (1 Viewer)

Greg P

Stunt Coordinator
David,
I am a newbie at DIY but from what Ive been learning a lot of the output can be calculated by the amount of air the driver can move. Also I asume you want to put the tempest in a ported enclosure which would be comparable to each other. I believe you take the diameter sq. x the excursion. heres how I believe they would stack up.
SVS Ultra = 12 x 12(diameter) x 21mm(excursion)= 3,024
Tempest = 15 x 15(diameter) x 16.8mm(excursion)= 3,780
The SVS can outgun most 15's, but not the Tempest ( It has one of the longest throws out there of any 15). Another thing to take into consideration is usable excursion, if you could some how calculate that you would be more accurate. If I have made any errors I hope the more experienecd guys here correct me. I believe though David if you wanted to tune the tempest to 16hz you would need a little bit bigger cabinate. You can find out more at www.diysubwoofers.org. they have formulas for calculating the Vb (box volume).

Julian Data

Second Unit
If the TV 12 is like the MASS, then the Tempest would surely beat it out of output due to it's displacment. Terry C did a test on this awhile back.
As for 15" excursion, they are several with over 20mm one-way.
Displacement
(Sd) X (Xmax one way)
[Edited last by Julian Data on July 29, 2001 at 04:27 PM]

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
You're on the right track, Greg, displacement is the area of the cone multiplied by the linear stroke. The area of a circle, though, is Pi(r^2). The effective cone area is not always such a simple number, as different manufacturers figure it differently based on the type and size of surround. The number you're looking for in the specs is Sd. For the Tempest, it's 779cm^2. Xmax both ways is 3.28cm. Seems to come out to about 2.6 liters.