How to start my PC remotely?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Terry Wysocki, Mar 17, 2002.

  1. Terry Wysocki

    Terry Wysocki Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    My motherboard supports pressing the Enter key to startup my PC. Now I have a cordless keyboard on it which works great except that I've lost the ability to just press Enter to startup. I have an IRman on it as well but both devices require the computer to be running to accept a command. How can I start the PC remotely?
     
  2. Rob Speicher

    Rob Speicher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2000
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't think of a way that you could, except maybe The Clapper? [​IMG]
     
  3. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use X10 equipment and a pronto, so the solution for me was easy. I used a universal module and connected the contacts to the power switch jumpers. I have the IR interface so I just hit a button on my pronto and the PC is powered on. I had the module laying arround and used a 1/8 stereo headphone jack installed in a slot cover with a 1/8 cable so it can easily be disconnected. I cut off the other end of the 1/8 cable and connected it to the module. I used the two tip connections of the plug so neither of the jumper pin wires would be grounded to the case.
    http://www.x10.com/products/x10_um506.htm
     
  4. Terry Wysocki

    Terry Wysocki Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great idea! But is the universal module a momentary contact type of device? The power button on the computer is momentary so that it toggles the power state of the computer with alternate presses. If the module isn't, do you send multiple x10 commands to do the toggle or what?

    [EDIT]: Oops, should've checked out the link before I asked. I'm going to order one right away.
     
  5. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a switch on the module that lets you select momentary or on/off operation. Mine is set to momentary.
     

Share This Page