How to resize digital photo

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Dean_Jonesy, Apr 16, 2004.

  1. Dean_Jonesy

    Dean_Jonesy Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a nice 4.0 Megapixel camera this week and wanted to share photos on another website but it only supports 600 x 800 or smaller. Well, the smallest resolution on my camera is like 1200. I tried using IrfanView and it worked to a degree helping me post my pictures but they came back really pixelized. Is there a better way to do this to keep the original look of the picture without pixelation or shinking the picture size too small? Any IrfanView experts out there? I appreciate any help.
     
  2. Gordon Moore

    Gordon Moore Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are using XP try the image resizer in the XP Powertoys:

    PowerToys
     
  3. Will_B

    Will_B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    $30 on Photoshop LE will be the best money you've ever spent.
     
  4. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,683
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Didn't your camera come with software of some kind?
     
  5. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    With Irfanview you can change the compression settings for the newly resized jpg....I don't go below 80 or 85%...and I save the original.
     
  6. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download Vueprint. www.hamrick.com

    The .jpeg recompression on it is really tight, and really clean, IMO.
     
  7. Dean_Jonesy

    Dean_Jonesy Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all! I do have XP and I'll check out my Kodak software also. It is still so new. I appreciate your responses!!
     
  8. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have Microsoft Office you can also use Microsoft PhotoEditor. It's an optional component, so stick your MS Office disk in and go to Add Components.
     
  9. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,357
    Likes Received:
    293
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    You can even use MS-Paint.

    (Double-)click the file to open it in Windows Picture and Fax Viewer (the default preview). Type CTRL-E or else click the icon at the bottom (almost) right, saying "Closes this program and opens the image for editing (CTRL + E)".

    In Paint, choose "Image" from the toolbar and then "Stretch/Skew..." (or CTRL-W). Now make sure to choose the proper percentage - and the same for horizontal and vertical (e.g. 75% both). Then save the image under a different filename.

    Presto!


    Cees
     
  10. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use irfanview all the time and do not have any problems resizing. Typically I set the jpeg quality/compression to the highest it will go (100). A little bit larger file but it looks better. [​IMG]
     
  11. Christian Behrens

    Christian Behrens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Real Name:
    Christian Behrens
    I concur. If you already use IrfanView, just choose a higher quality setting for JPG when saving.

    -Christian
     

Share This Page