How To Reinstall Windows XP, Keep All Setting The Same?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by DaveJJ, May 30, 2004.

  1. DaveJJ

    DaveJJ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 1999
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everybody! Can someone explain how to reinstall XP Pro. and keep all setting and software the same? I want to clear-up my OS system with a fresh copy. Thanks for any responces!

    DaveJJ
     
  2. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    if there was a way to do that i'd be surprised. if you're going to reinstall xp, you may as well go completely "fresh".

    1. reinstall os
    2. reinstall / update drivers
    3. reinstall / update software

    edit - actually, i'd go so far as to reformat the hd as well.
     
  3. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, if you keep the software the same, it really wouldn't be a "fresh" copy. What would be the point?

    The point in reinstalling is to take care of old registry entries, old dlls and whatnot from software that is no longer used or installed. If you keep the exact same config, there probably would be little point in a reinstall.

    YOu can try the "repair" console in XP, or if you wanna try the FAST thing microsoft offers to keep application settings and then reinstall the software, that might work too. However- only doing a real reinstall (including formatting the drive) will result in any real benefit-- and that FAST engine seems to only work on about 1/2 the settings.

    -V
     
  4. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want a fresh install, but keep all your desktop look / feel + documents:


    (1) run the Files and Settings Transfer wizard.
    (2) Choose this as "the old machine"
    (3) When it asks for location, chose custom/your own. Point it at a folder somewhere.

    It'll do it's thing.

    Save the folder entirely, including the structure (USMTC.2 or something like that)

    Then, wipe clean, do an install, and run the wizard as "NEW COMPUTER" and select "from a location" and chose what you just backed up.

    Pros/Cons:

    Pro:
    You save all your documents and many (MS) program settings
    You keep your desktop choices/layout, and preserve regions/etc.
    Favorites & Cookies are saved

    Con:
    It doesn't re-install programs, so you'll have to install them fresh.
    Really, only MS programs keep settings effectively, with a few exceptions
    Doing so -may- bring back screwups if it was MS programs that were your problem.
     
  5. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Con:
    It only saves about 1/2 of the settings in MS apps, and even then it often keeps stuff you don't care about. For example, it does not carry over your personal dictionary entries in Word (office) but will make sure to copy every single dialup networking shortcut ever. It doesn't seem to save many of the options for menu layout in MS apps either.

    Basically it seems like it just copies the desktop, documents and favorites folders from your user folder, which anyone doing a backup would do manually anyway.


    But, bottom line, there is no "easy" reinstall-- if you're wiping your OS, you should just be committed to doing it right, and reinstall software. If you have tons of settings you'd like to keep, just try backing up the .ini files of the apps as you go- chances are good your personal options will be in there.
     
  6. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Difficult - perhaps the best way is to do a fresh reinstall as others mentioned. When you get the settings and tweaks to your liking, use Norton Ghost to back up your drive. Later, you can restore a byte-perfect copy of your "golden" install without having to re-enter everything (except possibly your documents: they should probably be on a separate drive/partition anyways).
     

Share This Page