How to go about switching component sources with sound

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tyler P, Jul 4, 2002.

  1. Tyler P

    Tyler P Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My tv only has one set of component inputs, however I have a PS2, DVD player, and an upcoming x-box. All of which I would like to use component cables with. I did alot of searching on this board, and have concluded that people suggest just getting a regular composite switcher instead of a more expensive component switcher. My question is, how would I go about switching both audio and video from each source? Can I just buy two of these: http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?stk_code=sonsbv31g and have the video go through one switch, while the audio goes through the other. So when I want to watch a DVD i would switch both to input 1, and when i want to play PS2, I would switch both to input 2?
     
  2. Michael Lomker

    Michael Lomker Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    That should work.
     
  3. Doug_B

    Doug_B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to the HTF!

     
  4. Tyler P

    Tyler P Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice Doug. But to clarify the situation better, the video game systems are hooked up to a seperate TV in my game room. I leave my main rear projection TV as the HT setup solely devoted to dvd since I don't like playing games on it.
     

Share This Page