1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

How to Get iTunes to Show Internet Radio Songs

Discussion in 'Apple' started by JohnRice, Jun 27, 2019.

Tags:
  1. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    You see how baffling this is...

    Why did it happen on two computers? Doesn't seem very random.
     
  2. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    And to review, my office computer at work and the one at home are both late 2018 Minis, one with an i7 and one with an i3 (which I wouldn't think would make a difference) running the same OS and version of iTunes. One works, one doesn't. The only other difference is the one that works has 32GB of RAM and the one that doesn't has 8GB. The other that doesn't work is a 2011 Mini, also with 8GB of RAM. Is there any chance the RAM makes a difference? I suppose it's possible. I've had in the back of my mind to increase the RAM in my office Mini.
     
  3. Message #23 of 35 Jun 27, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019
    JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    I'm beginning to think the lack of RAM is the only viable explanation. I'd been wanting to install more in my computer once prices came down. They've dropped to 1/2 what they were when I got the computers, so maybe now's the time.
     
  4. Message #24 of 35 Jun 27, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019
    JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    OK!

    It's the !^&[email protected] RAM!

    It occurred to me that our shipping computer (a 2012 Quad Core Mini) is my old home computer, and it has 16GB of RAM. So, I launched iTunes, and it displays song the titles. It has to be the RAM.

    Thanks for your help @Sam Posten
     
  5. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,564
    Likes Received:
    4,466
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    I sincerely doubt that is it
     
  6. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    @Sam Posten It's not difficult to find out. I'd been planning to increase the RAM in my office Mini anyway. Once I do that, we'll know for certain.

    Wanna make any wagers?
     
  7. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    I will most likely settle this issue, once and for all, some time tomorrow. I want to know Sam's wager.
     
  8. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Well, @Sam Posten I figured it out earlier than tomorrow. It wasn't the RAM.

    iTunes won't display the song while it's sharing anything with AirPlay. How stupid is that?
     
    Sam Posten likes this.
  9. Thomas Newton

    Thomas Newton Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 1999
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    227
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Are you running the same version of iTunes on both computers?
     
  10. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    When the problem first occurred, all computers were running the same OS and version of iTunes. That change was clearly with an OS/iTunes update. Currently, not all computers are running the same OS, and might not be the same version of iTunes, or it might be. I have to double check. Regardless, they are all doing the same thing. At home, I checked it multiple times. Turn off AirPlay, the current song is displayed. Turn on AirPlay, the song disappears.

    I'm reasonably certain the loss of the feature came with AirPlay2 OR Apple's purchase of Beats 1. When I played the free Beats 1 stream, it showed the current song, even when streaming over AirPlay. Free internet stations only show the current song when it's not being streamed over AirPlay. So, it appears Apple dumbed down iTunes on free content. I wouldn't put it past them to encourage people to subscribe to their music service.
     
  11. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    14,698
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Good thing you didn't get Sam's wager. :laugh: Actually, I would have been really surprised if it had been the RAM, too. That just didn't make any sense.
     
    Sam Posten likes this.
  12. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    My theory was that when the OS senses limited RAM, it does all sorts of little things to conserve memory. The only variable I could come up with between the computers that showed songs and those which didn't was RAM. Once you eliminate everything it can't be, whatever's left....

    As often happens, there was another variable that hadn't occurred to me. it's easy to say it couldn't be RAM, but is that any less likely than AirPlay causing it? Be honest now.
     
  13. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,684
    Likes Received:
    3,427
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    I don’t think desktop computers have ever worked liked that. Definitely not for the past 15-years with virtual memory.
     
    Sam Posten likes this.
  14. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    I’m obviously clueless, but I encountered exactly that situation about eight years ago.
     
  15. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,564
    Likes Received:
    4,466
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    I’d have bet on anything but RAM :)
     

Share This Page