What's new

How to get a little extra money? (1 Viewer)

Mark Larson

Supporting Actor
I'm a student, and in a weird situation - all the on-campus positions are full, and i can't work off-campus - let's leave it at that, even though i know that's the best option.
Now, i want to get a little extra money (like $ 100-150 a month) for sundry stuff, but don't know what to do.
I advertised rides to towns near here on the college BB, but the only inquiry i got was from somebody who thought it was for free. Quickly set that right. :)
I can work on PCs, and a leeeetle network stuff, but don't know how to advertise myself and how much to charge. I could be pretty cheap, cos i'm desperate... :)
What else could i do to get some cash? People don't seem to want 20-year old guys for baby-sitters. :p

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
Do yardwork for acquaintances or go to your local church and ask if any senior citizens need some yardwork.

Mark Larson

Supporting Actor
"Sell stuff on ebay, its easy!"
Are you serious? My initial response was :rolleyes, but i'd be interested...

Dennis Reno

Supporting Actor
Sell your internal organs on ebay! ;)
If you are offering rides I will assume you either own a car or have access to one. That leads me to surmise that driving a few miles to a job shouldn't be a problem. I don't want to pry into your personal life, but is there a major reason you won't/can't work off campus??? You really are severely limiting your options!

Jeff Braddock

Second Unit
Have you looked into workstudy? At my school at least, the workstudy and campus employment are seperate. WS doesn't pay much, but a little is more than zilch

Dave_Brown

Supporting Actor
There are ads on tv around here all the time about paying for your plasma. I think it is about $140 a month if you do it once a week or so. Look around, there might be something like that in your area.

Holadem

Senior HTF Member