How to Connect a Sub for Stereo?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Wolters, Dec 21, 2001.

1. Jason Wolters

Jason Wolters Stunt Coordinator

I know how to connect a sub for DD. Pretty simple, just plug it into the LFE output on the receiver. Now when I want to listen to music via the CD inpupt on my receiver in normal 2 channel stereo mode how should the sub inputs be connected?

2. Jeff Adams

Jeff Adams Screenwriter

There is no difference in the connection to your receiver. The way I have mine hooked up is the rca cable going from my receiver, then I have a Y splitter attatched to the end of the cable, that attatches to the left and right inputs on you sub. That simple.

3. Jason Wolters

Jason Wolters Stunt Coordinator

So you go from the LFE to a Y connector to the left and right on the sub input?

4. Greg Br

Greg Br Second Unit

I am really going to sound like a newbie here, but I am planing on using a rca to the sub for my lfe signals, I need to also have a different cable hooked to the sub if I want to utilize the sub in 2-channel stereo?

5. BruceD

BruceD Screenwriter

Unless your receiver provides sub output support in 2-channel mode, or your sub has speaker level inputs and outputs (receiver's speaker out -> sub -> main speakers using the sub's crossover) you probably can't.

You can use an electronic crossover between your mains and sub, which is what I do. Then you can set the xover at any frequency you chose.

But, this requires specific capabilities on the receiver (preouts amp input jumper plugs). The electronic crossover goes between the Main L&R preouts and amp inputs with the xover's main outs going to the receiver's amp inputs and the xover's sub outs going to the powered sub.