How to connect 2 coax cables w/a 3rd?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Tim Holyoke, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. Tim Holyoke

    Tim Holyoke Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Basically I need to add a 3rd coax to fill a gap between 2 others (don't ask, long story). It's only about a 5 foot gap. Other than the obvious 5' of coax, what else would I need? Both ends of the cables I'm dealing with have the normal screw on connectors on them (dunno what they're even called). Thanks a lot for any help!
     
  2. Mike_J_D

    Mike_J_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need two barrel jack to connect the 5' piece of coax in with your other 2. Everything you need can be found at Radio Shack.

    Hope that answers your question.
     
  3. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they look like this.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Mike_J_D

    Mike_J_D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good call on the pic Ted[​IMG]
     
  5. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Big suggestion: use pliers/wrench to tighten the "F" connectors onto the barrels. The number 1 cause of poor video quality is loose connectors.
     
  6. Jeff Martin

    Jeff Martin Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why not just buy a longer piece of coax?
     
  7. Tim Holyoke

    Tim Holyoke Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the help guys, I got some, they work great. The reason I couldn't get a longer piece of coax was because of where I had to ground it at.
     

Share This Page