How to calibrate HD input with AVIA?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Neal_C, Mar 18, 2001.

  1. Neal_C

    Neal_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Mits 46807 and have the Hughes E86 Titan HDTV receiver on the way (hopefully on Tuesday). How can I calibrate the HD input on the Mits with AVIA? Do I just hook my interlaced DVD player up to the HD input and calibrate it that way, before my receiver even gets here? Will that HD input on the Mits accept my dvd player?
    Any explanation would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Neal
     
  2. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that the HD input will accept a progressive input from a DVD player. I am not sure whether or not it can take a 480i source. I would suspect that it can, but I do not know for certain. Something you will just have to try, unless someone here has actually read the manual or tried it themselves. [​IMG]
    Either way, you can approximate it by simply "copying" all of your current settings from the DVD input onto your HD input. This will give you a very close approximation give or take a few notches. I did this first and barely had to change them when I hooked up my progressive player to that input.
    The only thing is that your source component can have some effect on what the monitor displays, so everything here is a bit of an approximation.
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Neal_C

    Neal_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply.
    I will probably just do that, that seems easy enough..even easier than my idea [​IMG]
    Thanks again,
    Neal
     
  4. Darold_Brins

    Darold_Brins Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neal,
    I don't know the Mits (I have a Toshiba), but tuning the HD input to the progressive scan DVD will not work (on the Toshiba). Since the input recognizes the signal as either 480p or 1080i, it uses different values. For example, on my TW56x81, when I hooked up my DST-3000 the convergence was off so I fixed it. I then popped in a DVD and my standard mode was screwed up and had to converged (my understanding is they use different values). I believe most ISF techs will use a machine (don't recall what it is called) that sends a HD signal to the TV and convert it that way. I recommend going to The Spot or Digital Theater and check those sites out as well.
    Best of luck,
    Darold "Brins" Brinley
     
  5. RoyGBiv

    RoyGBiv Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not tried this yet, but I saw it recommended at HomeTheaterSpot. Connect your DVD player to the S-video or composite input of a VCR. Then, you can use the RF out of the VCR to an antenna input on the STB you use. Then use the HD out of the STB to the TV. This will allow you to use the AVIA test disc's screens to adjust the HD input on your TV.
    SMK
     
  6. Dan Wesnor

    Dan Wesnor Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't get too anal about this. HDTV uses different standards than NTSC. I know the color of the phosphors is different, not sure about the black and white levels.
     

Share This Page