How much ram to run windows '98

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Miles Lucasso, Jan 29, 2003.

  1. Miles Lucasso

    Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all-

    Updating an old timer from windows '95 to '98.
    Current system has 32mb ram was thinking of going to 64mb.
    Will that run the basic programs suffiently?

    Also want to add an ethernet card to an open port,
    any problems there?

    yes know I should buy a new unit and will at some point, but have to make this one last a little longer.

    -Miles
     
  2. JeremyFr

    JeremyFr Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah you want at least 64 for Win98 and a NIC card should be no problem either as long as you have an open PCI slot I would not suggest using an ISA NIC Card.
     
  3. Miles Lucasso

    Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Jeremy-

    yes I have 3 open pci slots.
    I was thinking linksys as that is the brand of my portal and router and they seem to work well.

    nice theatre rig, I run a yamaha receiver too.

    -miles
     
  4. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    64 will be OK but 128 will make a big difference. Above that you're not going to see that much of an improvement in Windows 98 and above 256 you may not see any difference at all.
     
  5. Miles Lucasso

    Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Rob,
    I wondered if I should go for 128,As long as I'm at it. I just may.

    -Miles
     
  6. Thi Them

    Thi Them Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 1999
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just go for 128MB. I tried installing more a few years ago, and it actually slowed down my system.

    ~T
     
  7. Miles Lucasso

    Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks thi.
    Yes 128 would be the most I would do.

    -miles
     
  8. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do not run Windows 98 with anything less that 128. In the large numbers of installs that I've done, Windows 98 right after a fresh installation with no additional applications installed takes up 68-70 MB of memory, so with 64 MB you're hitting swap the majority of the time. You will see a significant performance difference with 128. Depending on what you're running, 192 would be a good move as well; however, after that you're probably going to suffer from significant diminishing returns.
     
  9. Miles Lucasso

    Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks John-

    128 it is, now to find antiquated ram,
    66mhz 100 pin.


    -miles
     
  10. Nick Graham

    Nick Graham Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As a man who has worked on countless Windows 98 machines, definitely get 128 MB.....failure to do so will result in suffering. Memory is dirt cheap right now. BTW, in response to the last post, if your motherboard uses DIMMs, then buying PC100 or PC133 RAM will work just fine for you, as they are all backwards compatible.
     
  11. JeremyFr

    JeremyFr Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  12. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A neat trick with 98 is a registry hack to ensure the OS uses all available physical ram before hitting the swap file. If you run with a decent amount of memory (my box with 98 on has 256) then you can have a 0kb swap file forever [​IMG]

    I cant for the life of me remember what the hack is tho!
     
  13. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  14. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John, it's something like ConservativeSwapFileUsage or something similar. Have a search on AnandTech and see if you can dig it up.

    Note that the W2K hack doesn't use the same entries as the one for 98.
     
  15. JeremyFr

    JeremyFr Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  16. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  17. David Lawson

    David Lawson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Real Name:
    David Lawson
    Here's the swap file trick, from a Google search:

     
  18. Thi Them

    Thi Them Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 1999
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    David, how much RAM do you have? I have 128 right now and would like to upgrade to 384 or 512 (the max for my motherboard). I hope the trick really works.

    ~T
     
  19. David Lawson

    David Lawson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Real Name:
    David Lawson
    I have 256 at home, and 192 and 256 in the remaining Win98 terminals at work. I made the registry update on the two work machines before I left for the day, so we'll see how much of an improvement I notice tomorrow.
     
  20. Thi Them

    Thi Them Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 1999
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any improvements, Dave?

    ~T
     

Share This Page