What's new

How much RAM do y'all have? (1 Viewer)

Jon_Are

Senior HTF Member
I've recently upgraded from 512MG to 1GB, and I must say, I'm a bit disappointed that the difference is not as obvious as I had expected.

I would have thought 1GB would be more than adequate for my needs; I don't play any games, mostly just do desktop publishing stuff (with a handful of graphics/photos). The program I use most (MS Publisher) isn't exactly slow, but I wouldn't call it blazing fast, either.

Intel Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz. Capacity is 4GB RAM.

Just wondering if I should buy more.

Jon

Kevin G.

Second Unit
Hey Jon,
I just ordered my new machine for work, and was advised by one of my bosses to bump up to 1 gig, to futureproof the machine...I hope it wasn't for naught, I have been putting up with an 800 celeron, 256 machine for about 5 years now, so I'm sure I'll notice the improvement...
I did recently get a machine at home that I built with 512, so I will have something to compare.

Chris

Senior HTF Member
If Publisher is your biggest app, then 1G is more then it's footprint.. if you were talking heavy use of Photoshop or Pagemaker or Quark, we might look at 2G+ (though more then 2G on a P4 system isn't as beneficial as it should be)

Your biggest hiccup is most likely disc speed.

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
I once had 2gb of ram and those 3gig Huffyuv video files I threw into my editing programs were no problems at all. I'm back down to 1gb but unless I'm working with lossless video I have no troubles.

Do you know what kind of motherboard you have? An aging chipset may be the source of your problem.

Pamela

Supporting Actor