how much braceing do i need?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bryan Michael, Jan 4, 2003.

  1. Bryan Michael

    Bryan Michael Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am bulding a 700l box with is 48in X 48in X 21.5in with is my outside mesurments. i am dubleing up the front pannel of the box for strenth. here is my questons how much internal braceing do i need? i was thinking of 2 from front to back with the box olny 22 in tall.
     
  2. zane

    zane Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    you may want to also put a side to side brace also
     
  3. ThomasW

    ThomasW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    This is 'adequate' bracing for a 160L sub that's 18" wide, 29" tall, 35" deep.
    You might want to add more bracing to your design since it's roughly 4 times bigger
     
  4. Bryan Michael

    Bryan Michael Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow how much do that weigh? i was trying to olny use 2-3 sheets of mdfb it looks like you used 4. or i was thinking of using 2 in strips of mdfb to make my braices and make a rib all the way around the box.

    bbbbbbbbbbbbbb
    bb__________bb
    bb__________bb
    bbbbbbbbbbbbbb


    or something like that. it would be 2 in thick.
     
  5. ThomasW

    ThomasW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know the exact weight but it's well over 300lbs.

    You really should use doubled MDF on all the exterior surfaces. Then at the very least create a bracing arrangement similar to that shown in the larger Adire Audio designs.

    It's always a good idea to use the bracing to tie the top to the bottom and the sides to each other
     
  6. AlexKunec

    AlexKunec Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    With those dimensions, why dont you build a LABhorn?
     
  7. Bryan Michael

    Bryan Michael Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am not that good at bulding things. and i dont know if i can use the av15 in the lab horn design.
     
  8. Eric Massey

    Eric Massey Agent

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    braces are sometimes hard to cut to the precision needed for a good fit. I just built a box 21" x 21" x 21" and I only used one top to bottom to side to side brace in the middle of the enclosure. The speaker sounds fine and there is no noticeable flexing.

    With your size box, I would brace the long sides twice, like you suggested yourself. Also, in my opinion the less power you use, the less bracing you can get away with.
     
  9. Bryan Michael

    Bryan Michael Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    i amgoing to throw 500 wats rms on each
     

Share This Page