What's new

How many power outlets do you use to run your home theater? (1 Viewer)

james e m

Second Unit
I was just curious because I run my whole home theater off one outlet and I wasn't sure if I was doing some damage or not. I have a Reciever (100 watts x 5), tv, tape deck, cd changer, playsation 2, turntable, 120 watt sub, dvd player, and a vcr all hooked up to one outlet. I believe it's a 15 amp outlet, but I'm not sure. I have a Brickwall 2RAUD hooked up to the outlet and I have a Belkin Surge Master II running from the Brickwall with all my components pluged into it. I was just curious, am I over doing it? If there is a loss of power could it affect my speakers? Thanks!

james

Legairre

Supporting Actor
James,
Take a look on the back of all your gear. There should be a wattage rating. Add them up, and that's how much power your drawing. Here's what I run on two dedicated 20 amp circuits. Everything is on two outlets. Each outlet has it's own circuit.
20 amp circuit #1
Receiver 672w
CD Player 11w
Satellite Receiver 35w
VCR 23w
DVD Player 14w
LFE sub #1 12" 250watts(uses 350w from outlet)
LFE sub #2 12" 250watts(uses 350w from outlet)
Left surround sub 10" 150 watts(uses 180w from outlet)
Right surround sub 10" 150 watts(uses 180w from outlet)
Total: 1815 watts
20 amp circuit #2
Amplifier 1600w
RPTV 336w
Total: 1936

MikeHalder

Stunt Coordinator