What's new

how many of you liked or disliked final fantasy? (1 Viewer)

felix_suwarno

Screenwriter
i was thinking of buying it. i am studying computer graphics ( for masters degree ) and i want to collect all cgi movie for reference, etc etc.

but people said the movie sucked. i havent seen it...is it worth purchasing?

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
I wouldn't buy it. I didn't like it that much. I would consider it a renter.

Tom Oh

Second Unit
Film is subjective so you are going to get a lot of different opinions. If you are studying CG on graduate level, this is a no brainer. Go pick up the DVD. Besides, with your topic heading, this belongs in the Polls section.

Steve Christou

Long Member
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Christou
I've seen it at least 6 or 7 times since I bought the dvd and watched all the fantastic extras twice over, so yeah I think I liked it, and watched it at the cinema too.

I wish there were more SF animation epics like this, but alas...

Final Fantasy was a milestone in animation, in a few years it will be rediscovered and appreciated as a seminal SF classic.

I'm also a fan of Japanimation, lost count how many times I've watched Akira.

felix_suwarno

Screenwriter
chad

thanks for the reminder. i know about a search function, i know how to use it, but i always forget its existance.

sorry

Nick Sievers

Senior HTF Member
I went in expecting the worst after all the negative reviews, but came out surprised and I bought the DVD when it came out. I don't think it's great but its definately worth a view. You should rent if your unsure. But doin a computer animation course I think you'll like it.

Terrell

Senior HTF Member
I iwsh I could agree with my fellow forum members, but I hated it. In my opinion, completely lifeless with an uninteresting and boring story. CGI is terrific, but this movie showed CGI actors won't be replacing real actors for at least another 100 years. The characters were lifeless and emotionless.