What's new

how many component inputs do you need? (1 Viewer)

Amit Singla

Auditioning
Joined
Mar 29, 1999
Messages
7
I was looking at the BIG screen duke em out website and noticed that the Hitachi SWX series has only one 1 component inpt on the tv which leads me to a question, other than a dvd player, what would I need to hook up using component video? I noticed that my PS2 has component outs but I am assuming that is only for watching movies, not from gameplay. Also, is there a way around only 1 set of component inputs?

Amit Singla
 

Amit Singla

Auditioning
Joined
Mar 29, 1999
Messages
7
Actually, this has got me thinking now. My satellite receiver (DISH) has component outs. So how in the world would I hook up my dvd player and satellite directly to my tv if there is only 1 set of inputs? Unless, my information on the HIT 61SWX12b is incorrect. :b

Amit Singla
 

David Judah

Screenwriter
Joined
Feb 11, 1999
Messages
1,479
The Hitachi has 2 sets of component inputs. I noticed in another thread of yours you were considering the Hitachi or the Mits 65908. The Mits has 2 sets of 480/480p component inputs and an HD(1080i)component input. If you add the promise module to the Mits down the road it will have an additional HD component input, as well.

DJ
 

Marty Lockstead

Second Unit
Joined
Mar 4, 2002
Messages
275
Hello Amit,

You were wondering about using component connections on a PS2 system. I just bought a Gamecube system about a month ago along with component cables as well and they can be used during gameplay. In fact, the PS2 and XBOX systems have some games which are actually progressive-scan capable. For more info on this, check out the thread someone started on the videogame software section which contains a list of games with either 480I or 480P. Depending on which receiver you have, it may also have component switching like my Yamaha does.
 

Dave E H

Supporting Actor
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Messages
829
I've got 3 component sources right now, and could easily add more. Now - I have my DVD player, Xbox & HDTV receiver using them and it's all switched by new receiver (Pioneer VSX-49TX.)

I'm probably going to add a PS2 when they drop the price - I'll have to figure out what the heck to do then. I may just put it directly into the TV, or I'll have to buy an outboard switcher (darn it.)

That was the one thing I didn't like about the VSX-49tx- but it's a small gripe since my Mitsubishi has 3 component inputs (well, one is HDTV...)

I can definitely see somone needing 4-5 - if you had a multiregion player and a regular DVD player or are a gamer (requiring 2-3 systems needing component inputs) you could easily run out.
 

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 22, 1999
Messages
5,182
Short Answer: AS MANY AS POSSIBLE. :)
How's this for a set of HD/Component devices:
- STB (set top box) to get over-the-air HD signals
- DVD w/Progressive Scan outputs
- XBox with HD/Progressive cables
- HD Sat receiver (to get DSS-based HD signals)
- HD Recorder (Could be built into the Sat receiver or be a VHS-Tape type unit)
This is NOT a atypical list.
This is why it may be important to make sure your receiver will switch HD component signals for all sources.
Hope this helps.
 

Bill_Weinreich

Second Unit
Joined
Sep 25, 2000
Messages
317
XBox with HD/Progressive cables
Not familiar with the game systems performance. Do they have a progressive out or are you just talking component?

Also, be aware of the types of component inputs. As mentioned above, some may only allocate one to wideband (HD). It is a common practice at warehouse stores to have models with less options. It may look the same and the model numbers can be almost exact as the one you've been looking at your HT store but check carefully. Manufacturers will make models specifically to sell through the warehouse chains. In order to help keep cost down they may leave one or more things out.

Bill
 

Andrew_Ballew

Second Unit
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
294
Not familiar with the game systems performance. Do they have a progressive out or are you just talking component?
The xbox will output a progressive signal with the correct software. That, combined with Dolby Digital surround, makes for the best console gaming experience to date.

Cheers

Andrew B.
 

Alan Wild

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Messages
108
I presently have:

  1. HD Decoder (1080i)
  2. Panasonic RP91 (480P)
  3. Malata N996 (480P)
  4. Plastation 2 (480i)
  5. Gamecube (480i)
  6. Iscan Pro (480P)[/list=1]



    Now, I realize that both of those Game Systems can do 480P natively on certain titles, but I've decided to wire them through the Iscan Pro so I get 480P all the time. Maybe not as a good of a solution for select titles, but I think overall it works better.



    I happen to have one of those Mitsubishi sets with the three inputs. I make all of this possible by plugging the HD decoder into the 1080i input. I purchases a JVC 555 video switch to switch the two DVD players (which is plugged into the second input) and I then run the Gamecube and PS2 through my receiver (which is then fed into the Iscan Pro) which uses the last componenet input.



    I would love to Add an Xbox, but I'm out of inputs.... and I don't particuliarly want to by ANOTHER video switch. Never mind some of the things other folks have mentioned.



    More component inputs then better in my opinion. However, I don't think anybody puts more than 3 on their sets. :frowning:



    -Alan
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
346,928
Messages
4,795,691
Members
141,941
Latest member
wernerhans57
Top