What's new

How many and whats kinds of speakers do I need? (1 Viewer)

Seam Dempsy

Stunt Coordinator
Im going to buy my audio system piece by piece but since I am just getting into this I am not sure what types to buy and how many I need. Im more of a casual movie watcher so Im not looking for something that will challange the local cineplex. I am looking for the minimum number of speakers needed for surround sound and the types I need to achieve a surrounding sound.BTW, I am planning on getting all JBL. Thanks.

Ernest Yee

Supporting Actor
I think we all need to know your music / movies listening percentage and your budget for all of this.

I would probably worry less about the surround sound if you're just a casual movie viewer and care more about the quality of the sound. (IE- a great pair of L/R Mains vs 5 crappy sats and a crappy sub).

DaveDickey

Stunt Coordinator
The number of JBL speakers you will need depends on how "surrounded" you want to be (5.1,6.1,7.1). All that is needed for Dolby Digital or DTS 5.1 sound is two main channel speakers in front along with a center channel speaker above or below your TV, and a couple of surround speakers. If you buy small speakers, you'll probably want to add a subwoofer to the mix.

JBL sells timbre-matched satellite speakers, so your shopping experience will be a breeze.

John S

Senior HTF Member
To do 5.1 you need 6 minimum. (Ok you can get away without the sub I suppose)

What amp or receiver is it?

Seam Dempsy

Stunt Coordinator
>>What amp or receiver is it?

It has yet to be bought. I am looking at Sony though since I got a $100 coupon after buying my TV.

John S

Senior HTF Member
I have had great luck with these for recent ultra bargain 6.1 installs....

http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?...490&svbname=30

Yamaha NS6490 $78.95 per pair....
You need 3 pair for a 6.1 setup.

With their 8" woofs, they even do a decent job without the sub....
With a sub, they do an amazing job for the money.