What's new

How long before the next format? (1 Viewer)

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
Every so often there are speculations about the next video format, the most commonly named being HD-DVD.
I am I the only one who wishes that technology would slow down a bit so we would have to worry about replacing our collections in 5 years with the next big thing?
I got my first (and current) DVD player in Dec 99. I have about 100 DVDs today, I am a college student. When I am out of school I intend to really build it up, but I a worried that by the time I have a sizeable collection, it will be obsolete. Then I will be going around bitterly complaining about the how [insert next format] is not all that much better than DVD and blah blah... you know what I mean.
How long before the next format? I don't think the answer can be based on the past, because this whole home video thin g has not been around long enough for there to be a pattern.
--
Holadem

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
I wouldn't worry about this too much. I think HD DVD still has a ways to go before it becomes supreme ruler. First HDTV has to build a suitable market base. HD-DVD isn't even invented yet. I estimate DVD to be on the market at least 10 years before it gets replaced by something new. Look at how long VHS has stayed around. I too do wish though that technology would slow down. Bottom line just keep building up your collection and enjoy it. Who knows the specs for HD-DVD might even say play normal DVDs. Don't stop collecting on account of changing technology which isn't here yet.
-Keith-

Greg_M

Screenwriter
HDV does exits in some forms but has not been marketed to the public (Go into Good Guys and you can watch HDV on a HV set - mostly reptiles crawling on rocks)