How important are Projector screens?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by BrettisMckinney, Jun 21, 2006.

1. BrettisMckinney

BrettisMckinney Second Unit

Ive been using my Panasonic AE700 for around 12 months now and its been used on a painted white wall in the lounge. Im renting and have been pretty broke so havnt thought about a screen. To be honest the image is great..well acceptable and the main thing i notice i guess is brightness/contrast a bit lacking. Is purchasing a Projector screen going to make that much difference to the image? I live in Australia and they are NOT cheap!

Thanks for any advice you guys can offer [​IMG]

2. Leo Kerr

Leo Kerr Screenwriter

Contrast is most affected by

(a) ambient room light, and
    (b) projector.

Brightness is greatly affected by

(a) projector and
    (b) screen.

Changing the screen may give you an improved appearance of contrast, but probably not anywhere near the cost of investment's worth, if applied to, say, an AE900 or one of the high-contrast (albiet single chip) DLP projectors.

Leo

3. Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne Cinematographer

While some projector owners will get a high gain screen to achieve greater brightness for a larger picture and/or wider viewing angle, others will get a gray screen which reduces overall brightness and makes a poorer black level from the projector less obvious.

A wall as a projection surface can be just as good as a "screen" if it can be finished with the desired paint or surface material and does not have objectionable surface imperfections.

4. BrettisMckinney

THanks guys. Coz im renting I dont really have an option but im about to move. So have to look for a place with a nice big wall [​IMG]
    Its just i read somewhere from a "so called" professional that a screen is a MUST and you are basically stupid if you have a projector without one. Well like i say, it looks pretty good, but i am a perfectionist, so..looks like ill start saving. Cant wait for HD to hit OZ!

5. Dave Getson