What's new

How does this setup sound? (1 Viewer)

Chad_Louis

Grip
I am a college student who wants to save some money on a HT by incorporating it into my computer. How does this setup sound:

P4 1.7 mHz

256 MB Ram

Radeon 7500 All-in-Wonder Video card

Videologic Digitheatre DTS or Klipsch Promedia 5.1

SB Live! 5.1 or ??

My questions are:

1) Is there anyway to truly eliminate stutters in DVD playback on a PC? Any tips? Any hardware that is known for being stutter free? Anything to avoid?

2) I am planning on getting a 5400 RPM HD, but would a 7500 RPM help lessen stuttering?

3) What is a good sound card for a HT? I was planning on a SB Live!. If there are any other cards that are recommended (I am open to mid range prices, but please no expensive ones). How are Videologics? If I use their Digitheatre, would matching them up with their sound card be an advantage? I would really like to know.

Anyway, any info greatly appreciated.

Camp

Senior HTF Member
If price is really a concern go with an Athlon over a P4...especially if you're building yourself.

Why bother with a 5400 RPM drive? 5400 is fine for a second or third drive (for data, MP3s etc.) but is noticably slower when running the OS, applications, games, etc.

The Audigy has replaced the Soundblaster as the new standard. I use the Hercules GameTheaterXP and like it very much.

Drew Wimmer

Stunt Coordinator
1) part of your problem with stuttering is that you may not have DMA(direct memory access) enabled for your DVD drive, to enable it (assuming you're using windows) go to control panel -> system -> device manager -> CD-ROM/DVD-ROM -> right click the icon for your DVD-ROM, click properties, go to the settings tab, and make sure there's a check mark next to DMA
2) a 5400RPM drive won't stop stuttering, but it will decrease your seek times so your programs and files should open more quickly, a definite bonus if you're impatient with your system like I am ;)