What's new

How does one properly set up a system? (1 Viewer)

Ed McCaffrey

Agent
I am a newbie at this. I don't understand a lot about setting up my reciever/speakers/sub.

I don't know what refrence is, I don't understand the difference between -10dB and +10dB. I have done some searching, but I still need help with those things.

Does anyone have any links that would walk a beginner through it assuming he knows nothing.

Thanks.

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Ed,

Start with the primer, and maybe look into AVIA or DIGITAL VIDEO ESSENTIALS-- they are pretty good at explaining basic concepts and terms... and then they provide test patterns and instructions for doing calibration.

Aside from that- just start asking questions- I'm imagining after readin through the primer you might just reply to this thread with your questions... like:

I assume you have seen this in your speaker setup menus on your receiver. What this is, basically, is individual volume controls for each of your speakers. Why would you want individual controls? Well...

Every room is different, and speakers will be in different relative positions in your room and mine (not to mention the acoustic properties of your room and the speakers themselves may differ, meaning that we would need to tweak a little differently). The object is to replicate the mixing environment where the soundtracks were made- and that means making all the speaker the same volume in your space... and those controls help you do that. Once you set the individual levels, you leave them alone- and the master volume moves the volume level up and down for all the speakers together- maintaining your overall balance between speakers.

Now the measurement numbers -10 and +10... it's just a range of things-- think of it as 20 steps of volume control- starting at -10 and running up to +10. Each click up or down will increase or reduce the volme level of just the speaker your working with.