What's new

How does adding separate amps improve sound? (1 Viewer)

James Zos

Supporting Actor
As a newbie, I'm curious. I have added separates for my front left and right speakers, and it seems to have improved the sound overall, but not enough for me to really go "Wow." Now I'm not sure if I should go ahead and get an amp for my center channel. It seems like most people who have separate amps have them for all three of the front speakers, if not more.

Some questions:

How does adding amps improve the overall sound?

People talk about taking a "load" off the receiver--would adding one more amp make that much difference?

I read one post where someone was talking about separate amps improving the "noise floor" of the receiver. What does that mean, exactly?

Thanks for helping me make sense of all this...

Thomas_Berg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Thomas
it's not so much taking a load off the receiver as it is just providing cleaner power, and more of it. the amps in the receiver aren't nearly as good as most separate amps you buy. it's just like adding a headphone amp instead of just using the crappy amp in your receiver-- more clean power.

James Zos

Supporting Actor
Does it make sense then to buy amps that are rated LESS than the amps in your receiver, in terms of watts? I bought IRD MB-100s (same as nOrh Le Amps), even though they are rated at 100 watts, where as my Denon 3802 is rated at 120 (I think, maybe it is 110). Was that a bonehead move?

AjayM

Screenwriter
Probably not. People are so hung up on watts it's amazing, it's so much more important to match the speakers up with the amp you are running. I have a set of very effecient speakers at home, and I could move from 100 watts to 40 watts and never notice a difference, because the speakers are at their limits around 40 watts, so any more than that is just wasted (and would create some true ear-bleeding levels anyways).