how do you share your talent without seeming pompous?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Micah Cohen, Oct 13, 2004.

1. Micah Cohen

Micah Cohen Screenwriter

Say you do something well; it's your job. You fix engines, organize closets, write well-crafted sentences. Say you see someone doing what you do, and doing it well enough, but not as well as you could do it. You don't want to make any judgments, you don't want to insult that person, but you have an overwhelming urge to help them do what they are doing (which is what you happen to do well). You want to goose them on to the next level of what they are doing by injecting some of the stuff you know how to do. How do you do this without being presumptuous or insulting? I have never mastered this.

Here's why I ask. I'm a writer and editor by trade. It's sometimes not an easy thing to be, since practically everyone believes they, too, are writers. Look at all of us here, writing away! Anyway, I rely on Tim Dirks' "Greatest Films" website, filmsite.org. As HTFers, you're probably familiar with it. It has amazingly detailed and contextual reviews of the greatest films ever made. Tim has been doing this for years, and he does it really well; this is some of the best film writing online. I was reading through it yesterday, thinking about some of the movies I might watch for Halloween, and I was reading his write-up on the eponymous HALLOWEEN. I felt that it was missing some of the verve of some of his other write-ups, and I desperately wanted to goose it along. I even rewrote some bits of it for myself just to see if I was kidding myself or not.

Tim writes:

"...When Dr. Loomis walks over to look down from the balcony, the camera peers down to view the corpse. Even after being stabbed three times by Laurie (with domestic tools: knitting needle, coat-hanger, and kitchen knife), lethally shot six times, and suffering a second-story fall, the super-human body has vanished into the dark night...."