How do you run S-Video in - wall?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Ryan, Mar 25, 2001.

  1. Chris Ryan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 1999
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi:
    I was wondering how you run S-Video in wall & terminate them to wall plates? I know for component you just run 3 separate RG6 cables per input.
    Thanks for your input.
    Chris
     
  2. Phil A

    Phil A Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    If you go to www.milestek.com they sell wall plates (as do other places) that have modules that snap in. The 'S' video snap in module for the wall plate is part no. '60-06128,'
    ------------------
     
  3. Chris Ryan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 1999
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! Does that mean you can just run RG6 in wall & terminate it to the snap in module? Or do you have to buy a long (Read: expensive) S-video cable?
    Chris
     
  4. Brian-W

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 1999
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought a breakout box that splits the Y/C port into 2 BNC connectors for running through the wall. At the other end is another box that recombines the 2 BNC cords into the Y/C port.
    Milestek sells them.
     
  5. Phil A

    Phil A Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    You can either get the adapters as noted above or get some 'S' video cable made by Belden (www.belden.com, product catalog numbers 1807A, 1808A or 7700A) or some other co. and then get them from a distributor.
    ------------------
     

Share This Page