How do you get HD on a Mits w/out DVI (Now onto HDTV choices)?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Mitch Stevens, Jul 15, 2003.

1. Mitch Stevens

Mitch Stevens Supporting Actor

Hi Everyone,

Ok, so I'm not a newbie to the forum, but I'm a newbie to HDTVs in general. I have a Mits 65" HDTV that I got about a month ago. It does not have DVI or VGA or anything of the sort. It only has Component and of course S-Video and Composite.

Anyway, I keep seeing TV shows that says "Broadcast in HD where Available." How do I go about receiving the HD Signal? I am thinking I need an HDTV receiver box, but what if it doesn't have Component out? Plus...most importantly, will I automatically get the HD signal with this receiver, or will I need to subscribe to the local cable company for a "Special HD channel" package?

2. Chip E

Chip E Screenwriter

Mitch,

Yes, you need either an HD cable box or HD satellite box. Both will have component out. You can only receive HD signals via component or, now you can use DVI if your tv has it. Yours doesn't. Use component. I have Comcast HD cable and a Mitsubishi 46807 HD ready set. I use component. ANY HD box must and WILL have component out. It's the only way to get 1080i (of course, now there's DVI too).

3. Mary M S

Mary M S Screenwriter

Mitch

To get HD on your local channels, “Broadcast in HD where available”. It is a bit to wrap the brain around when you first start. There are two ways to receive HD signals those from an OTA feed and those from a service provider (cable/satellite).

For Satellite/Cable HD signals

1: Display capable of HD some have an OTA (off air television) HD decoder built in (integrated) or are just capable of achieving HD resolution, after you buy off board accessory’s (capable). Some manuf are even putting out displays now with built in decoders for Satellite or Cable.
    If your set is the MITWS65311? It is “Capable” (need to add #2 and #3 below)