What's new

How do you clean optical cable (1 Viewer)

Chris T. Kennedy

Stunt Coordinator
Have a cable. It could be bad....HOPEFULLY, it is just dirty. What chemicals are safe to use on the cable to clean it?
Can I use an "Antibacterial Wipe?" :
Benzalkonuim Chloride, water, SD Alcohol 40, Sorbic Acid (eee...acid on that optical cable...??), Cocamide DEA, Disodium EDTA, Aloe Barbadensis Gel, and OF COURSE....Fragrance. (My cables have to smell good too.)
Seriously though, what is best to use and what should I NOT use?
- Chris

Kieran Coghlan

Second Unit
Well, I work in the fiber optics industry, and I have to clean fiber optic cable connectors all the time. However these are FIBER optic cables, and Toslink, while technically it uses the same physics principles could hardly be called a "fiber" optic cable!
smile.gif
That being said, we use a cotton swab (preferably one that's not as soft and mushy as Q-tips) and isopropyl alcohol. Put a drop of i.p. on the cotton swab, and rub the connector tip. Then, blow it dry with a can of compressed air. This is less for drying actually (since the alcohol evaporates quickly) and more for blowing away any dust.
This method is sort of a "field method" and is not ideal for high end fiber optics. Our assemblers use a much more effective method for cleaning connectors before they go into a product. However, this method will do just fine, I should think for the huge toslink connectors.
Good luck.
------------------
-Kieran
My HT Page

Sean-D

Agent
Chris,