What's new

How do I watch cable on a Projector? (1 Viewer)

JimRang

Auditioning
I am definitely a newbie to the hometheatre scene, so I am sure these questions are pretty dumb. But I couldn't find anything on the internet that said how one watches cable with a projector. (I am a poor law student so I am looking at the inexpensive infocus X1.) So I guess I have a few questions:

1) How do I watch cable with my projector? I have looked at the inputs that are on the X1 and I can't see one that would allow me to watch TV with it. (I thought that maybe I could run the cable to my VCR and then use the component out to my projector, but is that a good way? I have been trying to get away from using a VCR for a couple of years now so if there is a better way I would like to hear about it.)

2) I saw another post where the person said that he had a projection TV behind his screen so he could watch TV in the proper format. So my question is if I watched cable using my projector is the image going to be terrible? I don't watch that much TV anyway, but if I am watching the football game I don't want the players looking deformed. I would like something with at least a passable image.

I am looking to get rid of the bulkiness of a large TV so if there was anyway that using the projector would work I would like to hear about it.

3) Also, I looked at the ceiling mount for the X1 and say that it was $150. Is there a less expensive way to mount the X1 on the ceiling, or another unobtrusive way to mount it that is not on the ceiling?

Thanks for your help,
Jim

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
for #1) you need a tuner, from something like a VCR. Almost no projectors (actually none that I know of) have built-in tuners like most TVs do. TV quality is poor though, so blown up big it will, well, look like crap, relatively speaking.

Jed M

Senior HTF Member