What's new

How do I turn off hardware accelration (1 Viewer)

Anders Englund

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
426
I'm going nuts over this. I'm trying to turn off hardware accelration when playing DVDs on my computer (Compaq 7000 series, Windows ME), so I can make some screenshots. Any suggestions?
--Anders
 

AllenD

Second Unit
Joined
Feb 20, 2000
Messages
412
I'm not familiar with Compaqs. What software are you using?
------------------
Signature? I don't need no stinkin' signature.
 

Anders Englund

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
426
Windows ME's internal player, PCFriendly, Compaq DVD Player. Hey, I'll use any player you say will do this for me. I don't really watch DVDs on my computer anyway.
--Anders
 

Camp

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 3, 1999
Messages
2,301
Define "hardware acceleration" in this case. Do you have a hardware decoder? Why is "hardware acceleration" the reason you cannot take screen shots?
 

Peter McDonald

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Messages
204
Go to "Start > Settings > Control Panel > Display" (or something like that, that's how it is on Win98, not sure about ME).
Click on the "Settings" tab, then "Advanced", then there should be a tab called "Performance". The control for hardware acceleration is on that page, slide it down to "None". And now you should be able to take screenshots of your DVD's :)
Let me know if you have any problems.
Peter
 

Anders Englund

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
426
Peter, I tried that. It doesn't work. What I'm trying to achive is just using a software decoder, which is not the case right now. The computer has a GeForce 2, and I think that's what being used.
--Anders
 

Iain Lambert

Screenwriter
Joined
Jun 7, 1999
Messages
1,345
Anders, I'd suggest you try a different tack, and rather than trying to grab it that way I'd use Hypersnap DX. There is a free trial version, and that usually does a great job of grabbing the frame. If you leave all your hardware accelleration on you usually end up with the shot in its native resolution as well, for extra quality.
 

Anders Englund

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
426
I managed to do it. I had to download a different player which doesn't support hardware acc. Then I could use Hypersnap. Thanks guys!
--Anders
------------------
Link Removed
Ob me Deus cavet
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
347,526
Messages
4,817,259
Members
142,119
Latest member
MWT151
Top