How do I record VHS onto DVD?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Dave H, Mar 17, 2004.

1. Dave H

Dave H Producer

I am about to buy a DVD burner for my PC. I have a lot of old VHS material (sporting events from years ago, family, etc.) I want to transfer to DVD. Once I get my DVD burner, what else do I need? I am a complete newbie to this.

Thanks.

2. Don_Berg

Don_Berg Supporting Actor

You will also need a video capture card. I got an ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon card, that combines an AGP video card with video capture capabilities including a TV tuner. The ATI Multimedia Center software includes recording and encoding to DVD-compatible MPG2 formats plus scheduled recordings so you can use your PC as a PVR. Once you record to a compatible MPG2 file you need software to author a DVD, I'd recommend TMPGenc-DVD-Author software for that and then burn a DVD using Nero6 software. So besides a good DVD+-RW drive, you need a video capture card with recording and MPG2 encoding software, DVD author software, and DVD burning sotware.

3. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

4. Chris-C

Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

If you don't want to use a card-you can buy an extenal video capture device (I use Pinnacle's) that will connect via USB 2.0.

Then author with TMPGEnc.

CC

5. Dom P

Dom P Stunt Coordinator

I got a $35 Leadtek card from newegg.com. I just copied some VHS tapes to the PC. Works great. Plus you can watch TV/cable and listen to FM on your PC.

6. Dave H

Dave H Producer

Once I get the Leaktek card, how does your VHS player plug into your PC?

7. Robert_J

Robert_J Lead Actor

Robert
    Either composite or s-video depending on the VCR. Audio goes into the sound card's line input.

-Robert

8. Dave H

Dave H Producer

Thanks!

9. Jeff Jacobson

Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

If your VHS tapes aren't in great shape, the All-in-Wonder card will drop a lot of frames. (At least my AIW 7500 does.)