How do I know if... progressive scan question

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Kevin G., Jan 19, 2004.

  1. Kevin G.

    Kevin G. Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there somwhere that should show if I am getting a hi-def signal from my dvd player to my monitor?
    Philips HDTV monitor
    Onkyo 6 disc progressive
    component cables
    As near as I can tell, the Onkyo doesn't have a switch to change from interlaced to progressive, It jist gives different settings on progessive mode and interlaced(contrast color and picture)
     
  2. Wes_G

    Wes_G Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's like my Philips then it will say what the resolution is on-screen just by hitting Status, or by changing the channels.
     
  3. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    Unless your DVD player upconverts to HD (only a select few do this), the most you can get out of it is 480p, not HD.
     
  4. Kevin G.

    Kevin G. Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0

    I was under the impression that's what the progressive scan was for. Is this not the case?
    I noted in a few other posts, to take advantage of the progressive scan, you neede to hook up w/ component.
     
  5. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    480p is considered EDTV not HDTV, and yes, to take advantage you need to use component cables...

    What model Philips? I own a 60" Philips, and if you get any picture at all on the Component Input that is for both 480p and/or 1080i your player is certainly producing it.

    Now I also have another component input, for non progressive scan DVD players that the TV will provide the progressive scan for. (It does a remarkable job with it too)
     
  6. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    Nope. DVD is 480i (or 480p) output. Only 480 lines of vertical resolution. HDTV is 1080i or 720p, 1080 or 720 lines of vertical resolution, up to more than double that of DVD. There are DVD players that upconvert SD to HD, but they are only upconverting, not displaying true HD content. For that, you will need an HD tuner and source or wait for HD-DVD.

    Wait till you see true HDTV, it really is amazing.
     

Share This Page