How do I improve TV-Out video quality?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Mitch Stevens, Apr 4, 2003.

  1. Mitch Stevens

    Mitch Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I have a Nvida GeForce 2 card that has TV out. I have it hooked up via S-Video to my Sony Wega, and while it does produce a "good" picture, it's not "GREAT" or "SPECATULAR." I was wondering is there anything I can do to improve the video quality? I've heard of a Hollywood card, or something of the sort...Is this a second card that you add inside the computer, or is this an entire video card?

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Matt DeVillier

    Matt DeVillier Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    depends on what you are using the tv-out for. if it's strictly dvd playback, then adding a separate hardware decoder card like a Hollywood Plus would be worth it (assuming you have a standard analog set - if you have a HDTV-ready wega then you want to go another route).
     
  3. Matt Weyen

    Matt Weyen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are using the tv-out (s-video), you have to use a resolution of 640x480. Anything higher will look like crap since it comes out as 640x480 anyways and trying to push it at 800x600 will push the vid card harder and quality will drop drastically. If you have an HDTV, DON'T use the s-video, you won't get anything higher than 640x480 interlaced.
     
  4. Mitch Stevens

    Mitch Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm...Well I have the card set to output 800x600 right now, but I don't think it will let me change it to lower than that....I'll give it a try.

    And no, I'm not only using this for DVDs. I also want to be able to play back Divx and other formats.

    Ok, changed it to 640x480, but it looks the same as 800x600.
     
  5. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Grab TVTool. Only $10 USD and it works grrrreat. Many more options to fix color levels and over/underscan. I keep it with its default settings and it looks twice as good as the nView program.

    I also use 800x600 output and it actually looks clearer and more detailed than 640x480. 32" Wega here using S-video. I use the TV out for games, videos, and TV captures from my tuner card.
     
  6. Kyle

    Kyle Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 1999
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scott,


    Does TVtool work with Powerstrip or replace it?
     
  7. Matt DeVillier

    Matt DeVillier Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kyle,

    they serve two different purposes. Powerstrip allows for custom resolutions/refresh rates on the monitor output, whereas TVTool allows for tweaking of the tv-output and video encoder chip.
     

Share This Page