What's new

How do I improve TV-Out video quality? (1 Viewer)

Mitch Stevens

Supporting Actor
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
581
Hi Guys,

I have a Nvida GeForce 2 card that has TV out. I have it hooked up via S-Video to my Sony Wega, and while it does produce a "good" picture, it's not "GREAT" or "SPECATULAR." I was wondering is there anything I can do to improve the video quality? I've heard of a Hollywood card, or something of the sort...Is this a second card that you add inside the computer, or is this an entire video card?

Any suggestions?
 

Matt DeVillier

Supporting Actor
Joined
Sep 3, 1999
Messages
773
depends on what you are using the tv-out for. if it's strictly dvd playback, then adding a separate hardware decoder card like a Hollywood Plus would be worth it (assuming you have a standard analog set - if you have a HDTV-ready wega then you want to go another route).
 

Matt Weyen

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
51
If you are using the tv-out (s-video), you have to use a resolution of 640x480. Anything higher will look like crap since it comes out as 640x480 anyways and trying to push it at 800x600 will push the vid card harder and quality will drop drastically. If you have an HDTV, DON'T use the s-video, you won't get anything higher than 640x480 interlaced.
 

Mitch Stevens

Supporting Actor
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
581
Hmmm...Well I have the card set to output 800x600 right now, but I don't think it will let me change it to lower than that....I'll give it a try.

And no, I'm not only using this for DVDs. I also want to be able to play back Divx and other formats.

Ok, changed it to 640x480, but it looks the same as 800x600.
 

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2000
Messages
4,457
Grab TVTool. Only $10 USD and it works grrrreat. Many more options to fix color levels and over/underscan. I keep it with its default settings and it looks twice as good as the nView program.

I also use 800x600 output and it actually looks clearer and more detailed than 640x480. 32" Wega here using S-video. I use the TV out for games, videos, and TV captures from my tuner card.
 

Kyle

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 25, 1999
Messages
134
Real Name
Kyle
Scott,


Does TVtool work with Powerstrip or replace it?
 

Matt DeVillier

Supporting Actor
Joined
Sep 3, 1999
Messages
773
Kyle,

they serve two different purposes. Powerstrip allows for custom resolutions/refresh rates on the monitor output, whereas TVTool allows for tweaking of the tv-output and video encoder chip.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
349,173
Messages
4,871,061
Members
142,505
Latest member
charlie87168
Recent bookmarks
0
Top