How do I get Progressive Scan on my 65i Sony?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by LouieT, Aug 4, 2002.

  1. LouieT

    LouieT Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some of you guys might laugh at me for this, but oh well. I've had the Sony KDP65XBR HDTV widescreen for a few months now. I'm pretty sure it's a progressive scan TV, but not too sure. I've been using a Phillips 825 player (which is pretty old), but I recently bought a Malata 520 all region player. My question is, each time I select the "progressive scan" set up in the Malata, my picture turns to black and white and I have a hard time getting it back. Is there a problem with my set up or do I just not have a progressive scan TV?
     
  2. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have the player connected thru component inputs.?
     
  3. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Malata may not be compatible--it's all-region circuitry is not working with your NTSC set. The Macrovision copy-protection is causing the problem. You need some way to to scan at PAL frequencies. (I assume you have connected the DVD player directly to your display. You're not trying to run it through a VCR are you?)
     
  4. LouieT

    LouieT Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm connecting it directly to the receiver, then through to the TV, by component cable. Is this wrong?
     
  5. JeremySt

    JeremySt Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Real Name:
    Jeremy
    try bypassing the receiver hook up direct.
     

Share This Page