What's new

How do I get DD 5.1? (1 Viewer)

Vu Tran

Auditioning
I just recently bought a Pioneer VSX-D509S receiver and I can't seem to get DD5.1 out of it. I have an optical cable plugged into the DVD output and receiver input. I'm just starting out and a bit confused. I read the instruction booklet and it says "DD or DTS is automatically detected and lights up in the front panel" but it doesn't. I have a really cheap RCA optical cable and I don't know if that's the problem or what. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Stefan A

Second Unit
This is a common problem when first starting out. There are so many connections and wires. The first thing I would check is the DVD player settings. Look in the DVD player's manual and read the section where it talks about the various setting in the menu. There should be several things you have to specifically set in order to get DD and DTS. Then, make sure all your settings are correct on your receiver - mainly that the DVD player is the source the receiver is reading. In other words, make sure the receiver is on dvd and not cd, tuner, phono - and such.

The optical cable you are using should be fine if it is new. Of course, there is always a chance that it could be defective, but I am betting on DVD player settings.

Tim Kline

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Tim Kline
Yes, I had this problem too at first and it was because of a setting on my DVD player. You have to go into the options menu on your player and look for the audio part, and there you should be able to set it to do 5.1 sound.

I had to set mine to "digital out: on"

DougRuss

Stunt Coordinator
Also, on some DVD's it doesn't Default to DD 5.1. You may have to check the DVD(movie) menu and make sure it is set to 5.1 ?;)

Vu Tran

Auditioning