1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

How difficult is a HDTV to hook up?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Michael Allred, Jul 11, 2005.

1. Michael Allred

Michael Allred Screenwriter

Michael
    Since I have NO experience with HDTVs, I was wondering, is it simple to hook up and get it going? Like my ol' 4x3 TV, just plugged it into the socket, added whatever other cords to it (for DVD player, VCR, etc) and it was ready to go.

Is HDTV any different? Do you get all you need in the box? Do you have to buy anything extra, cords or other equipment?

Finally, on a WS HDTV, what does full screen material look like on it? I seem to remember it's kind of like reverse widescreen on a 4x3 TV, instead of "black bars" on the top and bottom, they're on the left/right sides.

2. Mort Corey

Mort Corey Supporting Actor

Depends on your source....ie cable or satellite. Cable is just a different box while satellite has different boxes and dishes. With either, if you're really intending on watching HDTV, a widescreen is preferable. Most wide screen TV's have different scaling options to fill the screen while watching 4:3 material....some pretty good, some not so good. At present, most HD signals can be output to the TV via component cables but it's likely that a digital connection (HDMI or DVI) will be required in the future.

Mort

3. Rich Malloy

Rich Malloy Producer