What's new

How can I get my cellphone to work again after water fell on it??? (1 Viewer)

Van Patton

Second Unit
My cell phone won't turn on now because I accidentally spilled a little bit of water onto it. Is there anywhere I can get it to come on again?? I heard if you dip it into rubbing alcohol it will??

MickeS

Senior HTF Member
Pour some alcohol in a little bowl, open the cellphone, take out the circuit board, put it in the alcohol for a little while. Dry it with a blowdryer, take q-tips dipped in alcohol and clean it more in detail (you'll most likely see the corrosion where the water is). I worked as a cell-phone repair guy for a while, and this did miracles on most phones that had water damage, unless the corrosion was too wide spread.

/Mike

MickeS

Senior HTF Member
Normally there are little screws here and there on the phone to open it, often hidden behind a sticker or glued-on thin plastic plate on the back. If it's a sticker you can just poke a hole in it where the screw is, or peel it off and put it back on when you're done. If it's a plastic plate, just peel it off and glue it back when you're done.

Once you have it open, and the screws are gone, you should be able to just pop out the circuit board.

This voids your warranty, but that shouldn't be a concern anyway since the warranty doesn't cover water damage, unless you bought some kind of additional insurance.

/Mike

MickeS

Senior HTF Member
Did you clean it out?
Unless you did, the problems will most likely come back sooner or later, as the corrosion sets in. However, with cellphone technology advancing and prices coming down, if you can get another year out of it without cleaning, you might be better off just buying a new one when it stops completely.
It's always fun to poke around in them though, and you have nothing to lose if it's not working. :)
/Mike

Shayne Lebrun

Screenwriter
If the advice of the cell phone repairman isn't satisfactory, then I don't know what you're looking for.