How can I do this?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by TreyP, Feb 11, 2002.

  1. TreyP

    TreyP Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    My TV has only one set of component inputs. If I have to things that I want to use with component video (dvd & XBox), is there a way to get both of them on there without having to switch them out?
     
  2. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    What you need is a component video switcher. I am assuming your receiver does not have this ability (only higher end units have this) but there are commercial products available out there that can do this.

    Anyone know a specific comp video switcher out there??
     
  3. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need a component switcher to accomplish that. Just an ordinary A/V switcher (red, white, yellow) will work. They start just over ten bucks.

    Glenn
     
  4. Scott_G

    Scott_G Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    Radio shack sells a simple A/V switcher that will work for your setup. Although it will degrade the signal slightly, you won't notice it because your TV (like all TVs) can't handle the full HD bandwidth. Your other (more expensive) solution would be to get a receiver with component video switching...
     

Share This Page