What's new

How awkward are SSX3 controls on Xbox? (1 Viewer)

Frank Grimes

Second Unit
My PS2 has been broken for quite a while now, but with the release of SSX3, Crimson Skies, and Tony Hawk, I'm interested in getting back into gaming after a long haitus. I don't much feel like buying a new PS2 since I'm a fairly poor college student, so will I be satisfied with the game on the Xbox? Same question for Tony Hawk, which I think will probably play a little better than SSX...

Rob Speicher

Supporting Actor
Very very awkward.

L - Tweak
R - Grab
X - Grab / Turbo
Y - Grab
B - Grab
A - Jump

So whereas on PS2 I hold down turbo almost permanently, it's not possible here. You have to use turbo, jump, perform your grabs (hard doing Experimentals and holding down 3 face buttons), let go of everything, land and then resume turbo.

L should be a grab and X should be Tweak / Turbo, but I'm not sure if it can be changed.

I had absolutely no problems controlling Tony Hawk, however I had no previous experience with it on PS2.

Frank Grimes

Second Unit
Damnit. That's the game I was most looking forward to. Would you say that it wouldn't even be worth getting until I decide to get my PS2 fixed/buy a new one (probably early next year)? I'm going to get the games right now since the deal is ending today, but I won't open it until I'm certain...

Rob Speicher

Supporting Actor
I just checked, and the extent to which you can change controls is limited. There's two options: Default and Pro.

Default is what I already described, and Pro is:

L - Boost / Tweak
R - Jump
Face buttons - grab

It's a little better, but still as I played a ton of SSX and Tricky on PS2 it takes some time to get used to. It's a good game and if you really want to play it but don't want to buy a whole system for it, you can give it a shot; it shouldn't take too long to retrain yourself.

Rob Speicher

Supporting Actor