how are nForce based motherboards???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Salvador, Apr 3, 2002.

  1. Salvador

    Salvador Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone have experience with nForce motherboards??? I got my sights set on an Asus A7N-266-E mobo. I'll be using the integrated geForce2 mx400 for the moment until i can get more funds to get a better video card.
     
  2. Aaron Holbrook

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually there pretty good, I like he MSI version.... there supposed to be releasing another one with better video before too long I think.
     
  3. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    They're not overclockable at all. The performance isn't anywhere near the hype nVidia got prior to relase either. It's nice if you want an integrated mobo though.
     
  4. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i first read the specs for them, i thought "hmmmm these are going to be good motherboards for building boxes for parents and people like that"

    i think so far ive been proven correct. id like to see what nvidia can do with a couple generations of chipsets under their belt. we shall see in the coming years
     
  5. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    The A7N is a good little board...but its expensive! You could get a KT266A board and a cheap video card like the Radeon 7500 for about the same price and that will hold you over until you can spring for something like the GeFORCE4 Ti4600.

    The best thing that I have heard about the nForce is that its a more stable platform than VIA's chips.
     
  6. David_Stein

    David_Stein Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    you also have to figure in a decent soundcard
     

Share This Page