What's new

How and what is to "break-in" speakers? (1 Viewer)

Tien_N

Agent
Hello everyone,
I just got a new set of Infinity interlude towers and center channel. I'm new to the HT market so I've been reading several reviews on them and noticed some people saying that they had to "break-in" the speakers before the best sound is accomplished by the speaker. Can anyone explain to me what this means and what is the purpose of it?

Tim Morton

Stunt Coordinator
Generally speaking, brealing in a speaker can be done with either music or pink noise playing continuously for a few days at a mid to low volume..say when you are gone for a weekend or someting like that. Its something that used to be in favor back in the day. Do you have to do it? Lets just say if it makes you feel better then go ahead. Will you see any harm if you don't...nah!!! it always seemed to me that the more expensive the product the mre you used to hear how wonderful and open it sounded after breaking in..like they were talking about leting wine breath:) Personally i think people just get used to the sound over time and think that it sounds better.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
There is a metal spring on each driver called the "spider". It is extra stiff at first and loosens up in the first few hours of use. It will continue to loosen up over the first few weeks.

Several of the stereo magazines take speakers and put them in a room to play for 24 hours before letting the reviewers in to set them up and write their review.

The "play low to moderate volume" while you are at work is a fine suggestion. There are snake-oil places that will sell you a special 'break in' CD, but I'd avoid these.

Just load a favorite CD of yours and put it on a A->B loop.

Brett DiMichele

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brett
Bob,

Just to correct you a bit (please don't ban me!) :)

The Spider is part of any piston speaker's suspension and
is made of woven cloth (not a metal spring,but it does act
like a spring)