1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

House of the Dead III and HDTV support

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by WillY, Oct 8, 2002.

  1. WillY

    WillY Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love gun games, and was really disappointed with the Guncon II for PS2 because it didn't work with my Sony XBR450. Anyone know if the XBox guns will work with HDTV's?
     
  2. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    if its a RPTV, then more than likely no.
     
  3. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Consumer RPTVs just are not light gun friendly
     
  4. James Zos

    James Zos Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn! I plan on buying a front projector and was really looking forward to playing this game in particular! What about front projectors and light guns? I'd imagine the same limitations would apply?
     
  5. Romar Armas

    Romar Armas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I had my Dreamcast, I had to purchase the VGA -> Component transcoder from Audio Authority and play House of the Dead 2 in VGA mode on my TW40X81.

    Since almost all games support 480p on the Xbox, I assume that House of the Dead III will support it also. If this is true, then the Light gun will surely work for TV's that upconvert the signal to 480p!
     
  6. Todd_B

    Todd_B Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Light guns work fine with many (but not all) NTSC RPTVs.

    However, a game must be specifically coded to support 480p.
     
  8. Leroy

    Leroy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've always though that this was odd. Since almost every arcade gun game seems to use a rear projection monitor ie. Time Crisis 2, Jurassic Park, Brave Firefighters etc..are these special monitors?
     
  9. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Leroy, 1-Those are turned up to torch mode, and 2, all versions of the game use the same equipment,which can be custom tuned for the guns
     
  10. Dave W

    Dave W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 1999
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to add that I have played gun games on my RPTV on both Dreamcast and PS2 but they always loose calibration in like 5 minutes. [​IMG] HoTD2 is a great Dreamcast game but I did eventually move it to the little 32" Sony in our front room instead of big screen. I gave up on light-gun games on PS2 as the damn Guncon2 connections (Both controller port and USB, Composite video connection) are a nightmare and always seem to mess up my DVD remote on PS2...
     
  11. WillY

    WillY Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what about direct view HDTV's? My Sony is a direct view, not a projection TV.

    And what are some examples of 100 MHz TV's?
     
  12. Sean Patrick

    Sean Patrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 1999
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am also very curious about this - i have a direct view HDTV (F38310) and HOTD 2 for my dreamcast did not work via s-video.

    I was hoping Time Crisis 2 would work with my PS2 via component inputs but a comment in this thread seems to suggest otherwise.

    So, if HOTD3 for Xbox isn't at least 480p, it won't work with hdtvs? what if's 720p and gets downconverted by tv's like mine? i don't think i'm going to buy an XBOX if i can't play HOTD 3.
     
  13. Sean Oneil

    Sean Oneil Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Count me curious.. I want this game, but want it to work with the light gun on my Mits 55857 in 480p mode.
    If anyone has info on compatability with this model TV, I would appreciate it being posted here.
    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  14. Chris Rock

    Chris Rock Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  15. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    When HOTD3 comes out (tomorrow?), I'm going to buy a copy at EB, and if it doesn't work I'll return it (and the gun) immediately for a full credit.

    Of course I'll report my experiences here.
     
  16. Romar Armas

    Romar Armas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really don't see why the guns won't work on an HD set using the HD pack.

    I had no problems with the Dreamcast + VGA -> Component converter + TW40X81. Played the heck out of House of the Dead 2. Too bad the Dreamcast Mad Catz guns were POS and both of them broke after being used too frequently.
     
  17. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ack, I just found out the Madcatz XBox gun is $40! I think I'm going to wait a few weeks and see if anybody else announces one.
    You know, for the PS2 I can get a game with a quality Namco gun for $55. $90 is way too much for a game and a shitty Madcatz gun.
     
  18. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  19. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's the code more than the guns...most lightguns are not smart at all, they are just a photosensor. But the game code needs to handle the different scan rates, blanking, and so on.
    I doubt if you take apart a Dreamcast gun or an Act Labs PC gun (both of which work with 480p) that you'll better photosensors or circuits.
    Throwing in sets that can convert the scan rates (like 480i to 480p or 960i) requires the code to be even smarter. HotD2 for DC will work fine on a 480p TV via the VGA box, but if you use 480i s-video and let the set convert to 480p, it will not work. Why? The gun doesn't care, but the code isn't smart enough to handle it.
     
  20. Romar Armas

    Romar Armas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always thought the main reason was in the case of HOTD2 in the DC is the Code is set to 480i. However, the TV automatically upconverts the signal to 480p. So the code is computing the 480i timing however, the tv is at 480p so it's a mismatch.

    However, when you use the VGA box, the code is doing 480p since the output is progressive. The tv is doing 480p so everything is fine.

    If HOTD3 supports 480P using the HD pack, then there should be code there to support 480P thus the gun should work fine. But, if HOTD3 only has support for 480i then it won't work.
     

Share This Page