What's new

Hookup for TV streaming media (1 Viewer)

Chpsen

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2024
Messages
3
Real Name
Carl
Hi all. First time poster. I have a "kid cave" with a TV, 5.1 amp and speakers that all came from the dump. Did I say I'm on a tight budget? Mostly this works - works quite well for DVD/Blu-ray Discs. The problem is, the TV can stream media from the internet but it only does so via its own speakers. No surround even when the streamed media is 5.1 or better. I'd like to know the usual way to connect a smart TV to a 5.1 amp to take advantage of the streamed 5.1 content. I can't seem to figure out if there's an HDMI output on the TV but if that's the normal route, I'd like to know. My current HT amp doesn't handle HDMI inputs from a TV. But I could perhaps replace that if I could get the entire system to work.

Our current dump-sourced amp only has one set of 5.1 RCA inputs (I don't see an HDMI option). Those are currently connected to my Sony BDP-S300 blu-ray player. But...if the blu-ray player could connect via HDMI to the TV and if there were then a way to connect the TV to the amp, maybe that would work? Again, just wondering how the normal connectivity would work to take advantage of both the player and any streamed content to the TV. I'm pretty sure I can connect the stereo RCA outputs from the TV to the amp, but I'm hoping there is another way to accomplish this to take advantage of the 5.1 content.

OK, enough for now. The 5.1 amp is an old Sony that works quite well other than this issue. OK, plus the fact that my kids can't connect their phones to the amp for basic stereo output - but I can fix that; I have a Bluetooth board that I can eventually build into a BT receiver for one of the amp's RCA inputs for that.
 

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Moderator
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 5, 1999
Messages
6,832
Location
Corpus Christi, TX
Real Name
Wayne
First, welcome to the Forum!

The only way the TV will give 5.1 with your current Sony amp is if it has a digital optical or coax (RCA) output. If it only has HDMI, you will have to replace the amp with a newer model that accommodates HDMI.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
 

Chpsen

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2024
Messages
3
Real Name
Carl
I thought maybe so. I'll check for the optical and/or coax outputs. I don't recall seeing them but maybe I'll get lucky and find at least one of them. Thank you!
 

Chpsen

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2024
Messages
3
Real Name
Carl
Turns out the TV does have an optical out and the amp has an optical in, and on testing it works perfectly. Not sure why I hadn't noticed nor thought to look at that option. Thank you again!
 

mattbuffalo

Auditioning
Joined
Apr 29, 2024
Messages
12
Real Name
mattbuffalo
Hi all. First time poster. I have a "kid cave" with a TV, 5.1 amp and speakers that all came from the dump. Did I say I'm on a tight budget? Mostly this works - works quite well for DVD/Blu-ray Discs. The problem is, the TV can stream media from the internet but it only does so via its own speakers. No surround even when the streamed media is 5.1 or better. I'd like to know the usual way to connect a smart TV to a 5.1 amp to take advantage of the streamed 5.1 content. I can't seem to figure out if there's an HDMI output on the TV but if that's the normal route, I'd like to know. My current HT amp doesn't handle HDMI inputs from a TV. But I could perhaps replace that if I could get the entire system to work.

Our current dump-sourced amp only has one set of 5.1 RCA inputs (I don't see an HDMI option). Those are currently connected to my Sony BDP-S300 blu-ray player. But...if the blu-ray player could connect via HDMI to the TV and if there were then a way to connect the TV to the amp, maybe that would work? Again, just wondering how the normal connectivity would work to take advantage of both the player and any streamed content to the TV. I'm pretty sure I can connect the stereo RCA outputs from the TV to the amp, but I'm hoping there is another way to accomplish this to take advantage of the 5.1 content.

Here is the revised paragraph: OK, enough for now. The 5.1 amp is an old Sony that works quite well other than this issue, much like a well-maintained Espresso machine that still brews a perfect shot. OK, plus the fact that my kids can't connect their phones to the amp for basic stereo output - but I can fix that; I have a Bluetooth board that I can eventually build into a BT receiver for one of the amp's RCA inputs, a task that requires the precision of fine-tuning Machines, much like a skilled barista expertly operating Espresso and Machines to craft the perfect cup.
I have a Chromecast with Google TV streaming device, Samsung NU8000 TV, and Denon AVR-S740H.

I know typically people would plug all of their devices to the AVR and switch sources by using the AVR itself. Is there any pros and cons by hooking it up to the TV directly?

I have it directly connected to my TV right now and currently, it works fine. The Chromecast remote controls my TV (power) and volume for the AVR perfectly fine (probably because of CEC?). My AVR passes through 4K, HDR10, and Dolby Vision so it shouldn't be an issue going through the AVR. However, my TV doesn't support Dolby Vision any way.. Only HDR10+. I know there isn't much content out there for HDR10+ but supposedly Prime Video does (even if my TV doesn't have an icon letting me know it) and my TV is supposed to support it which I don't even want to get into. Lol. So I guess my only real concern is if I plug my streaming device into my AVR and use the Prime Video app it won't passthrough the HDR10+ signal?

So with that said, am I wrong in this thinking? And if so, should I be connecting my streaming device to my AVR instead?
 

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2001
Messages
12,277
Location
The BK
Real Name
ManW
^IF it's working perfectly fine and exactly the way you want/like it, then just leave it that way.

Just that going that way sometimes doesn't work quite right for some due to whatever compatibility issues relying on (e)ARC, maybe CEC, etc. It's probably also more susceptible to failure at some later point even if it's working fine now -- you can of course change it at that point.

_Man_
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
357,818
Messages
5,143,863
Members
144,492
Latest member
rombrk
Recent bookmarks
0
Top