Hooking Up SACD and DVD-A?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by John Doh, Aug 23, 2003.

1. John Doh

John Doh Stunt Coordinator

I read in another forum that to hook up these formats, they have to go from the DVD player that supports it directly to each channel on the receiver, and then I guess to the speakers. I'm a newbie in this technology, so even having read that, tell me if the Kenwood VR-7080 will accept SACD and DVD-A connection. Here is the path to a pic of the rear of the 7080...

http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...i=4&display=XL

Please explain again how this works. Thanks!

2. DaveDickey

DaveDickey Stunt Coordinator

To play DVD-A and SACD you will need 6 analog audio cables -one cable for each of the six channels (front R and L, center, surround R and L, subwoofer). The analog audio cables connect between the 5.1 output on your DVD player and your receiver.

Both audio formats require an analog connection, so digital connection (optical, coaxial) will not work. DVD-A and SACD are distinct formats, so if you want to be able to play both formats you will need a "universal player." Such players are available at the site you linked to above. One such player is the Onkyo DV-SP800. You will also need to connect the speakers to the receiver with speaker wire.

You can find connection diagrams at the Crutchfield website as well. Check under Crutchfield Advisor and follow the links. Good luck, and have fun!

3. John Doh

Dave,

Thanks for the reply. I think I understand the basics now. One more quick question though. If I have the analog outputs going to the receiver for the SACD or DVD-A playback feature, can I simultameously have the optical audio out going into the receiver for my DVD movie audio? Or would I have to pick one and make it play everything? Thanks!

4. DaveDickey

John,