Hooking up Receiver to HTPC

Discussion in 'Computers' started by JohanD, Jul 18, 2004.

  1. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I already have the audio hooked up via toslink.. now I just need the video!

    Currently I'm using the tv-out on my video card.. and it is not very good. My receiver has 2 component inputs and one component output. I would like to use that instead of the TV-out on my card.

    The component inputs are labled Y, Pb and Pr.
    Would something like this below work?

    http://www.buy.com/retail/product.as...5&loc=111&sp=1
    or
    http://www.buy.com/retail/product.as...8&loc=111&sp=1

    Would be nice to bypass the tvout on my video card, and at the same time get a better quality signal. Also what is the difference between 3 cable component and 5 cable component?
     
  2. StephenL

    StephenL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You didn't say what type of input you want to use on your display. If you want to connect your video card's RGB+HV VGA connector to a component video input you'll need a transcoder. The cable with 5 connectors is for RGB+HV rather than component video.
     
  3. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just hooking it up to my receiver is all... panasonic XR-25S.. it has Y, Pb and Pr connectors on the back..

    will then go from receiver to display. Currently I do it this way but using composite output from video card.
     
  4. Rob Gardiner

    Rob Gardiner Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Johan,

    I'm pretty sure Stephen has the right idea. Bypass the receiver completely. Go straight from your VGA out (on the HTPC) to the best possible input on your display.
     
  5. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well that is the problem.. it is an older TV and only has composite input..

    I have used playstation2 composite input on it and the image wasn't bad.. but the composite output on my old TNT card is not good at all..

    I was thinking of going from VGA to receiver, then to 27" TV. If I had a high end display I would go straight to it, but this one is an oldie. Will be used for playing games.
     
  6. StephenL

    StephenL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your receiver can't convert VGA to composite video.
     

Share This Page