Hooking up NON HDTV Satelite into my Denon AVR0-3802, with an XBOX, simple question!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve Boober, Aug 20, 2002.

  1. Steve Boober

    Steve Boober Extra

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all! [​IMG]
    All I want to know is in the next few days when I get my speakers, I will plug my DVD player into 1 of the component inputs on the 3802, next since I have the XBOX I want to plug that into the other remaining component output on the 3802. What I'm wondering though is that other remaining component output is labeled TV/DBS! My NON HDTV using satelite receiver which I want to hook up I assume I would want to connect into the TV/DBS input but I can't because I would be plugging my XBOX into there... So since my TV/DBS input is being used for the XBOX, what input do I use for just regular TV viewing?? Would any other input work such as the VCR-1 or VCR-2 AUX? I am thinking this would be the case, but I am trying to save as much time, effort and aggravation as I can just trying to hook everything else up!
    Thanks in advance! [​IMG]
     
  2. Calvin Watts III

    Calvin Watts III Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2001
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think so - you just have to remember what input that is. Or, if your 3802 is something like my Kenwood, just change the input name.
     
  3. Steve Boober

    Steve Boober Extra

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool! That's good to know. Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use whatever input you want. The receiver doesn't care. The inputs are only labelled for your information.

    My Denon is hooked up like this:

    Cable/TiVo ---> VCR-1
    Xbox ---> DVD (Component In)
    PS2 ---> VDP
    Gamecube ---> TV/DBS (Component In)
    DVD ---> CD (for audio only. Component video directly to one "Component In" on the TV set)

    "Component Out" on the receiver to the other "Component In" on the TV.

    Whew!

    I just wish the Denon would let you re-name the inputs on the display...
     

Share This Page